Mastoidectomy - Endolymphatic Sac Decompression

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by Verti_Geaux, May 28, 2007.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. Amethyst

Amethyst She believed she could, so she did.

I've got to say, I'm really surprised you're going through with this surgery Anne-Marie. Most people consider surgery only as a last result and from what you've written you are far from that stage. Are you ok if the surgery sets you back some?

2. Verti_Geaux

Verti_Geaux New Member

Hi Amethyst,

June has been good to me and I can't say that thoughts of postponing the surgery haven't went through my mind. BUT, I was SO BAD in Mar., Apr., & most of May!!! I was bedridden! Spinning & puking every 3-5 days. Losing weight like crazy, not able to go anywhere, not able to hardly walk, it was horrible!!! I'm a teacher and I missed so much work, plus I was spinning and puking at school!!!

I think the only reason I'm doing so much better in June is b/c the doctor has had me on STERIODS since May 3rd. (No telling what that is doing to my body.) I also know that no matter how GOOD I feel today, it could change in the blinking of an eye! That's how my MM does. I can feel wonderful one minute and puking the next.

So, I'm aware that the surgery may set me back, but I have to prepare for the future. My attacks are worse in Mar. and Oct. b/c of allergies, so I need to fix myself before that. And I need to fix myself before school starts back.

I'm afraid if I postpone the surgery, I'll be spinning and puking for weeks on end again, and I'll regret it.