Has anyone heard about Naltrexone (LDN)?

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by oaktree8, Mar 7, 2007.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. oaktree8

oaktree8 New Member

For all of us who think our MM might be autoimmune related--my uncle, who used to work in the pharmaceutical industry, sent this link about a new drug that seems to work wonders with some autoimmune conditions:

http://www.lowdosenaltrexone.org/index.htm

Has anyone tried it for MM, or heard about it?
    Thanks

2. Goomeri Spinner

Goomeri Spinner New Member

My MM is most likely immune mediated (I also have a Dx of AIED) but who really knows what came first ???

Thanks for the link oaktree....When I saw the topic I just had to read the article because the only reason I have seen naltrexone used is to reverse the effects of opiates (I'm an ex neonatal ICU nurse and we used it if the mum had opioid just proir to delivery...as this tends to inhibit the newborns ability to self ventilate!!!)

It was an interesting read, I had never heard of its use for anything other than the above. It will take me sometime to digest the info properly :) but anything new is IMO always worth a good think :)

Maggie

3. oaktree8

oaktree8 New Member

I've done only a brief search on the net, but I saw that some people said it helped with sleep, as well--wouldn't it be great if it helped with symptoms and with sleep as well?

4. james

james ''Everywhere I go there I am'' GS

Thought I would bump this up as I heard about LDN recently and in doing a search on autoimmune mediated meniere's on Google it came up again.This thread is about 3 years old,but the link has been updated.Almost sounds like one of those things that are too good to be true.

Was wondering about people's thoughts on this.

If Menieres is autoimmune related this could be a big deal??

Anyone have any experience with LDN?

5. amberini