My conversation with Dr. Gacek

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by angrychicken, Oct 25, 2013.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. angrychicken

angrychicken New Member

As promised in my first post, here is a followup on my discussion with Dr. Richard Gacek of the University of Massachusetts. I was fortunate enough to have an appointment with him yesterday. Here is my “brain dump” of that meeting.

• He was incredibly nice and personable. He listened carefully while I told him my story; he didn’t seem to be in a rush at all, which is refreshing in a world of pay-per-procedure where many doctors seem more concerned with turnover than their patients. I probably spent close to 30 minutes speaking with him.
    • He explained his viral theory to Meniere’s and other vestibular disorders, which I will attempt to recall in the following points. I’m not a doctor, so I may get some of this wrong but I’ll do my best.
    • He attributes virtually all vestibular disease (full blown Meniere’s, positional vertigo, etc.) as well as diseases that involve the facial nerve (like Bell’s palsy) to viral infection.
    • The method of entry for the virus is through your nose / mouth as you breathe. The virus embeds itself in your facial nerve and at some point migrates to your vestibular nerve. It lies dormant until your immune system is weak enough to attack.
    • The different forms of the disease depend on which end of the nerve they are active on - from what I recall, if the virus is active on the “brain end” you suffer from the vertigo without the hearing loss. If it is active on the other end you suffer from the hearing loss / fullness etc. without the vertigo. If it is active on both ends, you suffer from all of the symptoms.