1. Get our daily digest email where we email the latest new topics from our Strictly Health forum to keep up with the latest developments! Click here to subscribe.

My meniere story

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by Punture, Sep 4, 2021.

1. Punture

Punture Member

Sep 4, 2021
    Hi everyone,

I hope it is okay to share/vent my story here. I just had alot on my chest recently. If it is not, please delete.

I was diagnosed with Meniere’s 6 years ago when I was 25. At the time I was a medical student. I woke up with a sudden vigorous vertigo that we are all familiar with. I was so miserable at the time having to go through 24 hour call shifts and studying for exams with the symptoms - somehow I powered through. At the time, I did 60mg prednisone taper. That was also when Dr. Gracek’s paper on AV was published. Luckily my ENT agreed to prescribe me the AV after showing him the study. I also remember finding the older version of this forum where I learned about JOH. Although I always take claims of benefit with a grain of salt, I had nothing to lose so I started taking them too. His manuscript made sense to me since if I was subscribing to the viral theory of Meniere’s. I remember that as soon as I started taking the AV my vertigo attacks stopped. However, I was left with imbalance, tinnitus and hearing loss. Fortunately, those things subsided to a manageable level in about a year.

For the next 6 years I was left with mild hearing loss and tinnitus but no other symptoms. I became careless - stopped AV, JOH. Started drinking more coffee, alcohol, salt.

Then it all came back this July/August. Looking back, it was the perfect storm - heavy alcohol, thunderstorm, high salt intake and possibly barotrauma from going to an amusement park few days before. I woke up with that dreaded ear fullness, hearing loss that I knew would progress to vertigo attack. Since then, it has been the same constant cycle. My quality of life immediately went to 0.