1. Get our daily digest email where we email the latest new topics from our Strictly Health forum to keep up with the latest developments! Click here to subscribe.

Any opinions on these weird ear problems?

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by meemil, Oct 27, 2019.

1. meemil

meemil New Member

Oct 27, 2019
    Hi!

I'm a 21 year old musician/sound engineer and living a very confusing part of my life. Basically, I think this is not menieres yet, but I'm scared.

Last year, around same time in October, I had just moved to a new city for studies and had a sudden hearing loss in my LEFT ear on mid frequencies (no acoustic trauma or anything). I had done some quick research and got to doctor next day (still had the hearing loss). I was prescribed a regime of methylprednisolon 64 mg for few days and tapering 32mg for the rest of the medicine. I had a pretty much 100% recovery in hearing and didn't think of it too much afterwards.

In 2 weeks after recovery, I had a small similar episode this time in my RIGHT ear, same mid to high frequency and it wasn't as bad and it last only 1h. Weird. After this episode I've had following episodes with strangely exact pattern:

4 weeks normal then right ear, duration 1h and mid frequency
    6 weeks normal then right ear, duration 1h and mid frequency
    8 weeks normal then right ear duration ~40min and mid frequency

after these episodes, I moved to my parents place in another city for summer job and had no episodes the entire summer! whole 13 weeks normal, and right after moving back to the city where i continue my studies, in 2 weeks had some small ear fullness in my right ear.

Yesterday however, 26.10. I had a bad episode in my right ear again, tinnitus, ear fullness and this time huge low frequency loss, which lasted for +6 hours

I have had NO vertigo attacks or dizziness, but I still feel like I should take action before things go whack and I compromise my hearing.

Thanks so much!!

Last edited: Oct 27, 2019