1. Get our daily digest email where we email the latest new topics from our Strictly Health forum to keep up with the latest developments! Click here to subscribe.

Service Dogs

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by sherisuth, Oct 19, 2016.

1. sherisuth

sherisuth New Member

Oct 19, 2016
    Has anyone heard of being able to use a service dog to alert before a vertigo attack hits - I am trying desperately to think of anything that might give me back my life! As a Property Manager, my job involved a lot of driving, and with no warning on the attacks, I am unable to return to work.

TIA

2. Bulldogs

Bulldogs Well-Known Member

May 12, 2014
    Laby time!!!!

Don't let mm control your life. You have options

• Like Like x 1
  3. BEANZMEANZ

BEANZMEANZ Member

Jun 13, 2014
    Hi Sherisuth
    I'm not sure a first time poster to the forum would get a lot of information from "laby time" so here goes my stab. Firstly, I'm very sorry you have this horrible condition. I've never heard of service dogs being able to detect vertigo attacks, but there are a lot of posts from people that have found ways to at least keep the number of episodes to a minimum. Try looking for the posts on Antivirals especially Valtrex. Also the "John of Ohio" regime which helps a lot of people. The procedure Bulldogs is talking about does bring relief but it does also remove the hearing in the affected ear. But there is also a less destructive procedure that cuts the balance nerve and leaves the hearing in-tack. Plus the endolymphatic shunt which seems to have mixed results but helps some people greatly. If you can't find the information you need then try posting asking about these and I'm sure you'll get lots of help.

4. scott tom

scott tom Active Member

May 14, 2015
    If you have tried everything else, then try antivirals and/or surgery as a last resort. Labys do stop the vertigo.

5. moodymom27

moodymom27 Active Member