Medical Marijuana thread for Meniere's Patients

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by El_Ladron, Dec 12, 2010.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. El_Ladron

El_Ladron New Member

Ok, I've decided to start a thread on MMJ for treatment of Menieres and tinnitus relief.

I have been battling meniere's for 10 years, since I was 24. In the early years I was fortunate enough to have attacks only once or twice a year, with complete symptom-free remission in between. As time passed though, I got more vertigo attacks and this past April 2010 I got hit again, but this time the tinnitus remained permanent 24/7. Then in October I got a very serious vertigo attack (could not move - constantly vomiting), was taken to the hospital in an ambulance and stayed there for 3 days - given 12 IVs for vertigo and nausea. I have never fully recovered - my balance is off and my tinnitus is now even louder. Living with the constant tinnitus and ear pressure sucks the life out of me.

The doctors cannot offer me much help - as I already know there is no cure and tinnitus is permanent. I do not find relief nor do I want to be long term medicated on Xanax or Ambien to help me sleep. Beta-serc and JOH regimen are not helping anymore and the antivirals have yet to see improvement on them. I had a myringotomy tube placed - it helped for a year, but I'm still getting worse. I have tried everything except chiropractic - but I'm not convinced that works at all and wonder if it can worsen it!

I worry over losing my career to this disease and how it affects my marriage and family life. Most days after work I just lie on the couch with ear pain, or exhaustion from the 24/7 tinnitus. The weekends I am just bed or couch locked. My desire to go out and do things outside or around the house is nil.